Events

New Moon

New Moon - 9:58am EST

Sunday, February 26, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Annular Eclipse 2012 by Jim Chung, RASC Member

Annular solar eclipse

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Annular Eclipse in parts of Africa and South America.

See: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SEgoogle/SEgoogle2001/SE2017Feb26Agoogle.html

Vernal Equinox

Monday, March 20, 2017

Day and night are equally long

Messier Marathon season

Saturday, March 25, 2017 to Saturday, April 1, 2017
New Moon

New Moon - 10:57pm EDT

Monday, March 27, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Earth at Night (NASA)

Earth Hour

Saturday, April 22, 2017 -
8:30pm to 9:30pm

Earth Hour is a worldwide movement for the planet organized by the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF).

New Moon

New Moon - 8:16am EDT

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

New Moon

New Moon - 3:44pm EDT

Thursday, May 25, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Summer Solstice

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

This is the first day of summer in the northern hemisphere, and the first day of winter in the southern hemisphere. The Sun will have reached its northernmost position in the sky, with the north pole tilting towards the sun.

New Moon

New Moon - 10:31pm EDT

Friday, June 23, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

New Moon

New Moon - 5:46am EDT

Sunday, July 23, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Partial lunar eclipse

Monday, August 7, 2017

Meteor above ESO's VLT, Chile

Perseid meteors

Saturday, August 12, 2017

The Perseids are a prolific meteor shower associated with the comet Swift–Tuttle. The Perseids are so called because the point from which they appear to come, called the radiant, lies in the constellation Perseus.

New Moon

New Moon - 2:30pm EDT

Monday, August 21, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Total Solar Eclipse

Total solar eclipse

Monday, August 21, 2017

As seen from the Earth, a solar eclipse is a type of eclipse that occurs when the Moon passes between the Sun and Earth, and the Moon fully or partially blocks ("occults") the Sun.

Pages