Awards and Achievements

Each year the Toronto Centre recognizes the contributions of our members to the operation of the Centre, to the promotion of astronomy in the community, to observing programs and to the development of astronomical equipment. Toronto Centre awards formally recognize and thank those individuals who have made significant contributions to the Centre in one of four areas:

The Andrew Elvins Award is for members whose efforts have contributed significantly to the promotion of interest in astronomy and the Society among the general public.

The Bertram J. Topham Award goes to members who have made significant contributions to the observing activities of the Centre or carried out observing programs of a significant and well-defined nature.

The Jesse Ketchum Award is presented to members who have done considerable work in the construction and/or application of equipment suitable for astronomical observation.

The Ray Thompson Award for Astronomical Imaging is presented to the member or members who have done exceptional work in astroimaging including CCD, film, sketching and other techniques.

In addition to these awards, the Centre also presents the Bert Winearls Award annually to recognize exceptional service to the Centre. This award is made at the discretion of the President. If you wish to nominate a member for any or all of the above awards, please prepare a written nomination including information as to why you feel the individual(s) merit(s) consideration for the award in question.

Each nomination must include the signatures of two members.

Nominations should be mailed to:
Awards Committee, RASC Toronto Centre
c/o Ontario Science Centre
770 Don Mills Rd
North York ON M3C 1T3

Nominations may also be given directly to any member of the Centre Council. The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2017. If you have any questions, please contact Ralph Chou, Chair, Awards Committee.

The award year runs from January 1st to December 31st. If you would like to nominate a member for the Elvins, Topham or Ketchum awards, a written citation, outlining the nominee’s contributions and the reasons for nominating that person must be submitted by at least two members in good standing to the Awards Committee. Recommendations for the Winearls and Ostrander-Ramsay award can be made to the President and Editor of SCOPE respectively.