Events

RASC Robotic Telescope
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 9:00pm to 11:00pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/_7vj3eKYYTY
Michael Watson
Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 2:30pm to 4:00pm

In this talk and slide show, Michael Watson will discuss his 2018 and 2019 trips to Australia, which included several nights of stargazing and astrophotography from the dark skies of the Australian Outback.

QUANTUM + Pop Culture
Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Quantum physics has taken its position with rocket science in pop culture as a shorthand for frighteningly complicated science.

Inclusion is the Path to Excellence: The Importance of Allyship in STEM
Monday, February 24, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Panel Discussion on Inclusion and Allyship in STEM

Amy Shira Teitel - Fighting For Space
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
The first In Her Voice event of 2020 will feature Amy Shira Teitel. Amy will be discussing and signing copies of her new book, Fighting for Space.
The Death of a Universe by Dr. Katie Mack
Thursday, February 27, 2020 - 6:00pm to 10:00pm
The Big Bang theory tells the story of the beginning of the Universe, our cosmic home for the last 13.8 billion years. But what is the story of its end?
ASX Annual Symposium: Fiction to Fact: Step into Sci-Fi
Friday, February 28, 2020 - 6:30pm to 10:00pm

Where is the line drawn between 20th century science fiction and 21st century science fact?

For All Humankind
Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 3:00pm to 4:30pm

Join "professional Martian" Dr. Tanya Harrison and "geographer of space" Dr. Danny Bednar as they discuss the ongoing impacts of the Moon landing on human imagination, ambition, and achievement. Moderated by Dr. Sara Mazrouei.

Shohini Ghose
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm

You’ve likely heard of quantum computing. This emerging form of technology harnesses counter-intuitive properties of the subatomic realm to perform tasks that would overwhelm even today’s most powerful “classical” computers.

Brian Greene
Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Explore humanity's search for meaning in an evolving universe with the world-renowned physicist and best-selling author of The Elegant Universe.

Friday, March 20, 2020 - 8:00pm to 11:00pm

Quench your thirst for astronomy!

On Friday, March 20, 2020 at The Great Hall! It'll be another fun evening of pints, astronomy news, mind-expanding talks, games, prizes, and Dunlap merchandise for sale!

Millennium Square
Friday, April 3, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Astronomy Night at the Riverwood Conservancy
Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 8:30pm to 10:00pm

Explore the universe with members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. Telescopes will be set up to provide stellar views of the Moon, the planets and more.

Millennium Square
Friday, May 1, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, May 29, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, June 26, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, July 24, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, August 21, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, September 25, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, October 23, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.